A few months ago, we wrote about the changes being made to Florida’s auto insurance laws. A MarketWatch press release shows how disappointed many Floridians and consumer groups are with these changes. In “Opponents blast auto insurance reform, medical care cuts,” we learn that many opponents of Governor Scott’s auto insurance changes believe that they are only in the best interest of auto insurance companies. Governor Scott disputes those claims and says the main purpose for these changes is to cut down on fraud and eventually lower Florida’s cost of living.
In July, around 150 new laws took effect, including the limitation of medical benefits that will be paid out and the stipulation that injuries must be reported within 14 days of a car accident. The government in Florida says that the $1.4 billion that personal injury protection claims have increased over the past 4 years is largely due to fraud in the insurance market. Now that PIP benefits are capped at $2,500 unless an “emergency condition” is reported by a valid medical professional, Governor Scott believes there will positive strides in Florida’s auto insurance marketplace.
But opponents say that many terms in the new laws are too vague, such as what constitutes an “emergency medical condition” and what providers can be seen. Chiropractors, acupuncturists, and physical therapists say they are concerned that people will develop many more chronic conditions after car accidents because they aren’t getting reimbursed for seeing these types of providers. They government disagrees with these claims and is trying to assure Floridians that they will be treated for their valid medical claims following a car accident. They say they are just trying to get rid of the rampant fraud caused by many of the things they have changed or banned.
The most important thing to remember if you are a Florida driver is that you have to file any medical claim within 14 days of a car accident. Once you have done that, follow the exact procedures listed under the new laws so that you will be reimbursed by your car insurance company. Despite the battle between consumer groups and the government, you need to follow the laws until they change, if they do.
After years of debate, changes have been finalized for Florida’s PIP auto insurance. According to Tampa Bay’s Fox 13 News, Jeremy Campbell says “Car insurance changes (are) coming soon.” Rick Scott, Governor of Florida, signed a bill this week that will take effect on July 1st of this year. Auto insurance companies and lawmakers have been working for years to battle fraud related to Florida’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. They say that these changes will help to lower auto insurance rates because the fraud was out of control.
What will the new bill change? First of all, Florida drivers will have to seek medical attention for any injuries related to an automobile crash within fourteen days of the occurrence. At one point, there was no cap on the amount of time that could lapse between an accident and receiving medical treatment. Unfortunately, some drivers were abusing the PIP system and seeking treatment for injuries or medical conditions unrelated to the crash quite a time later.
Drivers will also have to seek this medical attention from a certified medical doctor or dentist. They cannot go to see a chiropractor or a holistic type of healer for care if they have been injured in an automobile accident. The amount of benefits you can be paid has now been capped at $2,500, unless a certified doctor says that you have an “emergency medical condition.” The cap used to be $10,000, so this is quite a significant change. If you live in Florida and need to use your PIP insurance, make sure to have your claim documented by a medical professional within fourteen days of your accident.