As of October 1, there was a new Arizona auto insurance law implemented according to an article by Adam Rolnick found on usprwire.com about Oasis Insurance. The bill was passed the previous legislative session and it’s known as HB2224.
October 1 and going forward judges are required to assign penalties for Arizona drivers who don’t carry auto insurance coverage. About 87% of tickets that were issued because drivers were not carrying insurance were dismissed or the fines were lowered. The new law says there will be no dismissal of these charges.
The first offense will carry an approximately $720 penalty which cannot be waived. About $970 will be the fine for second time offenders. If you are caught a third time driving without auto insurance the fine will be up to $1200 and your license will be suspended for a year. Not only will your license be suspended but you will be required to carry SR22 insurance documentation once you get your license back.
Before this law was passed, Arizona residents who were caught driving without insurance would often purchase the insurance before the court date and show their proof upon the judge’s request. The new law says this will not be possible going forward and the fines still must be paid.