Connecticut Auto Insurance
Choose from the top Connecticut auto insurance companies and compare auto insurance quotes at no charge.
Compare rates for the coverage you want. Connecticut auto insurance rates vary substantially depending on the company. Be sure to review your options. You are under no obligation to make a purchase.
Take advantage of our free online quote comparisons. Find CT auto insurance quickly and easily.
Protect yourself from the repercussions that come from driving uninsured, compare and select a Connecticut auto insurance policy online. Every vehicle registered in the state of Connecticut must be covered by a certain amount of liability insurance. State law requires a minimum of $20,000 per injured person, a total of $40,000 per accident, and $10,000 of property damage coverage. The law also requires minimum uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage in the amount of $20,000 per person up to a total of $40,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured or underinsured motorist. Connecticut operates under a Tort system. This means that someone must be found at fault when an accident occurs. The insurance company representing the individual who is found at fault will then be held financially responsible for all of the damages incurred in the accident.
If driving in the state, you are responsible for carrying proof of current insurance with you at all times. Drivers who are confronted for a traffic violation will need to present proof of a valid policy to a law enforcement officer. If you are unable to verify your insurance coverage, you may be cited. You cannot register any vehicle in the state of Connecticut without presenting evidence of insurance coverage. The Connecticut Division of Motor Vehicles will be made aware if you allow your insurance policy expire after registering a vehicle. Connecticut auto insurance laws compel insurance companies to notify the DMV when policies for actively registered motor vehicles are discontinued. Once the DMV is notified, they will inform the vehicle owner that he or she must offer proof of valid insurance to avoid the $200 fine.
Connecticut auto insurance laws are designed to protect its citizens. The state welcomes a number of tourists from other states, which increases traffic, and the likelihood of an accident for its residents. All states have different liability insurance requirements. With visitors travelling throughout the state, Connecticut must protect its drivers by mandating uninsured motorist insurance. If you are involved in an accident with another driver, who does not carry insurance, or does not carry enough insurance to cover your expenses, your insurance company will be responsible for these costs. Motor vehicle owners and drivers in Connecticut are encouraged to protect themselves by obtaining at least the minimum amount of required insurance coverage. Compare side-by-side quotes online to find Connecticut auto insurance.