New Jersey Auto Insurance
Side by side auto insurance quotes are an invaluable asset when choosing a New Jersey auto insurance company.
Even for the same level of coverage, NJ auto insurance providers can offer very different prices.
We hope that our free services help you find the insurance you want at an affordable rate. Using our quote comparisons does not obligate you to purchase insurance.
The state of New Jersey has about 36 thousand miles of public roadways throughout the state, according to the Highway Performance Monitoring System (HPMS). The state is home to about 8.8 million people, with approximately 1,134 people per square mile. Auto insurance is mandatory in New Jersey, yet the type of coverage and the cost of a premium varies substantially. The Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction Act requires New Jersey auto insurance companies to offer a 'basic policy' to every driver. The precise amount of coverage is not specified, but every driver is required to carry all of the following: liability insurance, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist coverage.
The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance (DOBI) offers an example of a basic plan that may be offered by an authorized insurance company. This basic plan would include bodily injury liability (coverage would not be included but would be available as an option), in the amount of $10,000; property damage liability for $5,000 per accident, and personal injury protection of $15,000 per person, per accident and up to $250,000 for permanent or significant injury as defined by the particular policy. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, collision coverage and comprehensive coverage are not included in the basic policy.
For perspective, the DOBI compares the basic policy to a standard policy. A New Jersey auto insurance standard policy would include bodily injury liability of $15,000/$30,000 per accident, with higher limits available; property damage liability of $5,000 per accident, with higher limits available; personal injury protection of $250,000 per person, per accident, unless a lower limit is chosen; uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is offered up to the amounts chosen for liability coverage; collision and comprehensive insurance are available as options. Be sure to purchase an insurance policy that satisfies all of the New Jersey auto insurance regulations. Driving uninsured in New Jersey is illegal and dangerous. Taking the time to review and compare options today will save you time and expense in the long run.