Alabama Auto Insurance

" onsubmit="return validateForm();">


Click on any of our Alabama auto insurance partners, to get a free auto insurance quote or quotes.

Alabama auto insurance rates vary substantially depending on the company, even when you are looking for the same type of coverage, so your best bet is to compare more than one insurer.

This is a complimentary service, and you are under no obligation to buy.

We hope to help save you time and money while shopping for auto insurance in Alabama.

Alabama law requires that all drivers be covered by liability insurance when operating a vehicle, and must carry proof of this insurance when driving. The minimum coverage for injury liability for one person is $20,000, the minimum for all injured persons is $40,000, and the minimum for property damage in a single accident is $10,000. The state law accepts proof of insurance in the following formats: a temporary or permanent card issued by the driver's insurance company, proof of vehicle purchase (within last 60 days) along with a valid insurance card for your last vehicle, or the premium receipt issued by your insurance agent. If you are driving a rental car, you will need a copy of the rental agreement that includes information on the insurance coverage. If the Alabama Department of Revenue discovers that a vehicle is not covered by the required insurance, the vehicle's tag registration will be suspended until proof of insurance can be provided. A fee of $100 will be charged for reinstatement. In the case of a repeat offender, the owner will be suspended for four months, provide proof of insurance and pay a $200 reinstatement fee.

Getting your driver's license? To apply for your Alabama driver's license, you must be 16 years of age or older and provide the following: two forms of identification (one with a photo), or three forms of identification without a photo, in addition to social security number verification. Applicants must also provide proof of graduation or current enrollment in school (if under age 19 and applying for the first time), a $5 test fee and a $23 license fee. If you are 18 years old or older, and would like to complete all license testing, you will need to have a licensed driver, a vehicle that will pass inspection, and proof of Alabama auto insurance.

Moving to Alabama? In addition to acquiring Alabama auto insurance, you'll need to transfer your driver's license. To complete an out of state license transfer, the State of Alabama requires your current license, social security verification, proof of graduation or school enrollment (if under 19 years of age), a $5 transfer fee and a $23 fee for your new license. The Alabama Department of Revenue randomly surveys car owners to make sure they are covered by liability insurance. If the Department finds that a vehicle owner is not covered, they will suspend tag registration. Vehicle tag registration may also be suspended if the owner presents false proof of insurance or fails to comply with a law enforcement officer's request for proof of Alabama auto insurance.

Click Here for your Free Auto Insurance Quote