Louisiana Auto Insurance

" onsubmit="return validateForm();">


Get an auto insurance quote or quotes, from the top Lousiana auto insurance companies. Keep in mind that LA auto insurers often set very different rates for the same level of coverage. Quote comparisons are a valuable resource when looking for the best rates.

This is a free service. Using our quote comparisons does not obligate you to buy auto insurance from one of our partners.

Find details about Louisiana car insurance and select the coverage you need at the rate you want.

Louisiana auto insurance laws are very unique. While most vehicles need to have liability insurance coverage, the level of coverage is directly related to the weight of the motor vehicle in question. Exceptions to the insurance regulations include vehicles that are largely used for parades or displays, buses owned by Louisiana cities, and vehicles that are owned by the United States or by the state of Louisiana. If you do not qualify as an exception, compare free auto insurance quotes online to find reliable, affordable car insurance.

If your vehicle weighs 20 thousand pounds or less, you are required to carry $10,000/$20,000 bodily injury liability as well as $10,000 property damage liability. With a vehicle that weighs over 20 thousand pounds and less than 50 thousand pounds, you have a choice of either $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury and $25,000 property damage, or a single combined limit of at least $75,000. Vehicles that weigh more than 50,000 pounds can be insured for $100,000/$300,000 bodily injury and $25,000 property damage liability or a combined single limit of $300,000.

You must carry proof of Louisiana auto insurance at all times. Acceptable forms of proof include your insurance company issued card, a copy of your declaration page, a copy of your insurance policy or binder, or a written statement from your insurance company or insurance agent that must be printed on company letterhead and include the agent's signature as well as all relevant information about your vehicle. If you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer and cannot provide one of these forms, your license plates will be taken and your vehicle will be impounded. If this happens, you will have three business days to present proof of Louisiana auto insurance to the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). You can find the location of the OMV printed on your violation. If you cannot show proof of insurance during the allotted time period, your license plates will be destroyed and you will need to register your vehicle all over again.

What can you do if your insurance is cancelled? When your auto insurance is cancelled in Louisiana, your license will be flagged. Until the flag is removed, you won't be able to renew your registration or reinstate your driver's license. You can have the flag removed if you prove that you carry the proper insurance within ten days of the date your insurance was cancelled or provide evidence that the vehicle was moved out of state, sold, traded or junked. Without following this process to prove insurance coverage, within the first ten days, you will be charged reinstatement fees. The fees will increase the longer you wait to show proof of insurance. Between 11 and 30 days, you will be charged $50; between 31 and 90 days, you will be charged $125; and if you wait longer than 90 days, you will have to pay $225. Maintaining the required amount of Louisiana auto insurance is the best way to avoid heavy fees and inconvenience. Compare policies and quotes from authorized Louisiana auto insurance companies.

Click Here for your Free Auto Insurance Quote