New York Auto Insurance

" onsubmit="return validateForm();">

New York

Please take advantage of our free quote comparisons and NY auto insurance information.

Auto insurance quotes are presented side by side to help you make an informed decision.

We hope to take some of the confusion out of shopping for auto insurance in New York.

Our services are complimentary and using them does not obligate you to make a purchase.

New York auto insurance regulations are different than many states in that they do not recognize out of state insurance; drivers must insure their vehicles with a New York State Insurance Department licensed company. Any motor vehicle that you drive, or allow someone else to drive, on any public road or highway in the state, must be covered by liability insurance. Motorcycles need to be actively insured whenever it is being operated on the road. other vehicles, however, need to have an active liability insurance policy even when in storage or not being used. Always carry your insurance company issued insurance card in your automobile. Your vehicle registration and insurance policy must always have the same name and address. Once your vehicle is insured, your insurance company will need to file your coverage electronically with the Department of Motor Vehicles. You will also be issued an insurance identification card. Neither of these is sufficient proof on its own, the DMV will need both electronic and paper evidence of coverage.

The state requires insurance companies to notify the DMV whenever a driver's insurance policy changes. If you allow a lapse in coverage, cancel your policy, purchase a policy, renew coverage, change companies or reinstate coverage, the DMV will be notified. If your insurance company fails to complete this task, your vehicle registration will be suspended and your driver's license could be subsequently suspended. It is always a good idea to double check with your insurance agent to make sure the DMV is updated on your situation.

If you are driving uninsured and are involved in an accident, your driver's license and vehicle registration will be revoked for a minimum of one year. You will suffer the same consequences if you allow someone else to drive your car without liability insurance and they are involved in an accident. This type of violation also calls for a traffic court fine in the amount of $1,500. Additionally, you will be charged $750 as a civil penalty, which you will have to pay the DMV in order to have your license reinstated. Use online quote comparisons to find New York auto insurance coverage.

Click Here for your Free Auto Insurance Quote