Oregon Auto Insurance

" onsubmit="return validateForm();">


Get several auto insurance quotes from Oregon companies.

Car insurance companies may set completely different prices for the same amount of coverage, which is why it's essential to see auto insurance quotes side by side.

Our quote comparisons are offered at no cost to you, and using them does not obligate you to buy insurance from these companies.

The State of Oregon records and studies crash statistics in an effort to make its roadways safer for all drivers and passengers. The 2007 Motor Vehicle Traffic Crash Report contains information on all reported automobile accidents that occurred during the year and analyzes the injuries, types of vehicle, driver errors and other relevant factors. In 2007, there were 411 fatal crashes in the state of Oregon, which was a 2 percent decrease from the previous year. Non-fatal injury crashes decreased by 6 percent, with a total of 18,500. Property damage only crashes accounted for 25,251 of these accidents, which represented a 2 percent increase from 2006. The total number of crashes was 44,162 which was a 2 percent decrease from the previous year. Based on this data set, the most common driver errors are failure to avoid a stopped or parked vehicle ahead, failure to yield right of way, driving too fast for the conditions, failure to stay in the chosen lane, improper change of lanes, and inattention. The most common pedestrian-related accidents happen as a result of crossing between intersections, the failure to yield right of way, or crossing improperly at intersections. Accidents involving bicyclists are most often due to a failure to yield right of way, riding on the shoulder facing traffic or disregarding traffic signals.

If you do not have a certain amount of Oregon auto insurance, it is illegal to drive a vehicle in the state. The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles enforces these regulations. The minimum amount of coverage permitted is $25 thousand per person for bodily injury and property damage liability insurance, $50 thousand for bodily injury to others, per accident, and $10 thousand per accident for property damage. Additionally, motorists must carry at least $15 thousand in personal injury protection to pay for potential medical, dental and other expenses up to one year following an accident. The law also obligates all drivers to purchase uninsured motorist coverage in the amount of $25 thousand per person and $50 thousand per accident for bodily injury.

The Oregon auto insurance regulations are enforced by way of the Oregon DMV, which audits vehicle owners at random to verify compliance with the laws. Driving without auto insurance in Oregon is a Class A misdemeanor that can bring fines and up to a one year jail sentence. Purchasing and maintaining the mandatory Oregon auto insurance coverage is the best way to protect yourself from financial difficulty and legal ramifications in the event of an accident.

Click Here for your Free Auto Insurance Quote